Rites of Puberty via the 70s!

Growing up in the later seventies was an odd thing.  Every decade has its rights of passage; that movement from one phase of your life to another.  And no right has as much impact as the transformation of puberty.  And doing so in the age  of disco and pop made that much more difference.

Ah, Puberty.  That moment when you notice things you never noticed before.  I still remember on day with my family as I was in the crowd of the Strawberry Festival of Dayton, Tn.  I just remarked at how short dress lines and shorts themselves where getting.  My mother, God bless her, simply informed me that it wasn’t anything new.

“It’s just now that you’re noticing”

Wow, how red my face was.  But she was right.  And I had never been more happy to be a guy!

But part of my right of passage from not noticing to noticing was the media I consumed. Nothing sells like sex appeal.  And even in the commercialization of a young boys ‘kiddie’ shows, there was plenty of things for a fledgling nerd to ogle.

Early on (70-71), I began to ‘notice’ although not knowing.  I would gravitate to shows like the BUGALOOS and one of my first crushes, Joy!  Or maybe it was Yvonne Craig aka Batgirl on the Batman show.  Eh, does it even matter at this point?

isis-tv

As the decade poured on, young nerds everywhere celebrated with shows like Wonder Woman and the iconic Linda Carter.  We were glued to the television as The Secrets of Isis brought us Joanna Cameron in that wonderful outfit.

I unashamed admit that I longed to watch BUCK ROGERS IN THE 25th CENTURY, not for the scifi adventure or the heroics of Gil Gerard, but for the feminine form of Erin Gray.

dyna-girl-and-electrawoman

So, hearing that the Sid and Marty Kroft  show, ElectraWoman and DynaGirl was making a comeback, it quickly got my attention.  I don’t remember DynaGirl by name, but I’m sure even Deidre Hall has a hard time forgetting that spandex.

Feminists and Women’s rights groups all over may be trying to forget these characters too.  But middle aged men all over the USA and beyond will never forget.  Because it wasn’t a degrading anti-PC image for women for us.  They were strong female leads that had a great deal to do with our rights of passage into adulthood.

(Watch for a review of the revamp later this month)

Leave a Reply

