The good, the bad and the PC

No, I’m not going to rant about ‘Political Correctness’; although I can for hours!  No, I’m actually talking about the personal computer aka  the PC.

computer-pc

You know…the PC…that huge suitcase like mechanism we used to have in all our homes that did what laptops, tablets and phones do today.  Yeah, think back.  It seems odd that such an icon in the home for a decade is becoming an antiquated chunk of technology that ends up just being in the way.

We’re a portable society.  We want it quick and easy and light enough to carry everywhere.

This is where I’m going to get old on you.  Sorry, I can’t help but wax nostalgic to simpler times.  No, sorry, can’t do that with a straight face either.  I’m a man with feet in two centuries.  The 20th century was cool with all of its dreams and ambition.  We walked on the moon and created an invisible library that spans the globe.  Truth be known, if not for the ‘can do’ attitude of the Americans of the 60s and 70s, we would not have the massive amount of technology today.

Any nostalgia I feel is for the journey.

I remember being in college and my mother buying a Commodore64 for her small business.  I remember the wonder and accomplishment of getting the computer to keep file information via a tape drive.

Commodore_64_Box

I remember taking a entry level programming class at Carson Newman College with my high level accomplishment being printing “I Love You, Connie…” over and over again.

I remember being in awe and wonder when I used a Mac to access Napster and talked to a man in Israel.

old_computer

I remember the joy of finding homebrew Jedi for my Star Wars RPG.

I’ve loved every minute of it.  Even the dial up internet.

As much as I loved the journey, I am a child of both worlds.  For I am quite fond of the 21st Century.  All the technology and comic book greatness on the big screen warms my heart.  But looking at my 8 year old PC and realizing it’s time to upgrade fills me with a bit of fear and trepidation.  Being old school and knowing I need something to write on, I can’t help but long for a new PC.  But the new think calls for a laptop or a tablet.  Oh, the dilemma.

Anyone out there, writers especially, have any suggestions?  I’m open for them.  I mean, I’ve proven that I’m not afraid of the coming upgrades.

Leave a Reply

